Wehazit Claim Silver at the 9th African Championship

Wehazi Kidane winning 2nd place at the 2013 African Championship
Wehazi Kidane winning 2nd place at the 2013 African Championship

By TesfaNews,

Eritrean rider Wehazit Kidane claimed Silver at the 9th African Continental Championship by finishing 2nd in the elite women’s Individual Time Trial (ITT) category over a 21km course.

South African renowned rider and national champion Ashleigh Moolman-Pasio wins gold and the African Continental Championship title for the third time in row after clocking 30:38s in the category.

Namibian Viera Adrian and Eritrean Tsehainesh Fitsum completed the race third and fourth respectively.

Fourteen riders from eight countries participated in yesterday’s ITT race.

With the absence of Eritrean riders in the junior category, South African Ivan Venter and Morne van Niekerk won gold and silver respectively in the 21km men’s race while Junior National Champion Heidi Dalton and Monique Gerber won another gold and silver in the 21km women’s race.

With both women and men category, the South African team today claimed a total of five gold, two silvers and a bronze medal.

Wehazit Kidane was the Eritrean national champion for the last three consecutive years and today’s win in the ITT race was her first podium win.

So far she has won one gold and one Silver medal to her name.

Africa’s three time ITT champion Daniel Teklehaimanot will compete today to defend his championship title against his fierce Namibian contender Dan Craven and of course his own teammate Natnael Berhane. His win is almost certain.
– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –


AfricaTopSports.com is currently running its annual survey to choose Africa’s Sportsman of the year 2013. Last year, with the support he gets from his worldwide fans and his fellow Eritreans, Daniel Teklehaimanot was chosen as Africa’s Sportsman of the year 2012 and got the first TopSports.com Award.

This year the website picks Natnael Berhane as one of the candidates for the award. Here we are asking you to go to the website (click here) and VOTE VOTE VOTE for Natnael Berhane. He currently lagging behind Yaya Touré, Didier Drogba and Emerick Aubameyang Pierre by getting very little votes.

PROFILE: Natnael Berhane

VOTE 4 Natnael
VOTE 4 Natnael

He dreams of succeeding  Daniel Teklehaymanot  who won the first Africa Top Sports.com Awards. Eritrea may still be in the spotlight this year with Natnael Berhane, who managed the feat of finishing second in the Tour of Turkey. The rider of the Europcar team is 22 years old, and the future belongs to him. Berhane is the new prodigy of world cycling, agree all observers of cycling. Voted best African cyclist in 2012, it was particularly sparkling on the Tropical Amissa Bongo of Gabon, the Tour of Algeria and already completed double champion African road cycling.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

14 thoughts on “Wehazit Claim Silver at the 9th African Championship

  1. Proud moment for Eritrean cyclist in general,specifically Eritrean women cyclist.
    Congratulation Wehazit you made history. We are all happy for you.

  2. I want to share from TV eri news!

    Eritrean National Cycling Team Wins and Becomes Champion of Africa for the 4th consecutive year

    Isaak Tesfom Okubamariam on the headline!

    Velo.com | 12/5/2013

    After the victory there a few days in Eritrea against the clock team, then that Daniel Teklehaimanot the time trial – during tests of the African Championship, this is a new again an Eritrean Isaak Tesfom Okubamariam, who won the road race. And it is in a sprint to the three runner 22 years is imposed. He beat the Namibian Dan Craven and fellow Merhawi Kudus Ghebremedhin. Behind, the riders arrived one by one.

    Ranking African road championship in 2013 – Top 10

    1 – Issak TESFOM OKUBAMARIAM (Eri) 3: 41: 06

    2 – Dan Craven (Nam) mt

    3 – Merhawi Kudus Ghebremedhin (Eri) mt

    4 – Ben Abdellah YOUCEF (Alg) +1'00 "

    5 – January HADI (RWA) +1'33 "

    6 – Hassen BEN NASSER (Tun) +1'43 "

    7 – Azzedine LAGAB (Alg) +1'43 "

    8 – Meran RUSSAN (Eri) +1'43 "

    9 – Abdul Aziz NIKIEMA (Bur) +1'43 "

    10 – Hendrik Kruger (Rsa) +1'43 "
    – See more at: https://eastafro.com/Post/2013/12/05/eritrean-nati

Comments are closed.