Ethiopia Wins Non-Permanent Security Council Seat

Security Council voting
The United Nations General Assembly elected Ethiopia for a two-year term non-permanent member of the UN Security Council replacing Angola by the end of this year

By TesfaNews,

Ethiopia officially locked a two-year, non-permanent seat on the United Nations Security Council after 185 of the 190 UN member states voted in favor of its membership today during a secret-ballot poll held at the UN General Assembly.

Despite the full backing of the African Union, Ethiopia lobbied hard to garner the required two-thirds of votes from the 193-nation General Assembly to win the African seat that will be vacated by Angola by the end of this year.

Bolivia and Sweden are also elected. All the newly-elected members will begin their two-year stint on January 1, 2017.

Egypt and Senegal have the other two seats reserved for Africa and they will be stepping down at the end of 2017 when their two-year term comes to an end.

In addition to five permanent members — France, the United Kingdom, the United States, Russia and China — who have the right of veto, the Security Council consists of 10 non-permanent members representing five regional blocs for a period of two years.


Q : What privileges exist while holding a temporary seat on the UNSC?

Answer : Like the permanent members, the non-permanent members participate in decisions at the council that can authorize the deployment of troops from UN member countries, mandate cease-fires during conflict and impose economic penalties on countries. But only permanent members have veto power over decisions.

Q : Can members of the UNSC bring up “their own issues” at the council?

Answer : Any UNSC member can bring up an issue for discussion if nine of the 15 members agree to do so. In order to adopt a resolution or decision, at least 9 members (including all of the five permanent members) must vote for it.